Find out what all the buzz is about at the Bitterroot School of Cosmetology with their exciting programs.
To be licensed in Montana, you must be 18 years of age, possess a high school diploma or GED, complete the required hours of your desired course and pass a national exam.
Tuition Fees and Payments
Below fees apply to any enrollment after Jan. 1, 2017
NOTE: The above rates are subject to change without notice. The above fees DO NOT include the Montana State Board Examination Fees.
(Variable with Financial Assistance)
The additional hourly fee may be waived ONLY with written consent of the school under demonstration of circumstances warranting such a waiver.
Theory, law test, practical exams and clinic work are graded as follows:
Theory classes are conducted Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. Students are expected to be seated and prepared for the start of class at 8:30 a.m.
All chapters covered require the completion of the theory workbook prior to test day. If the workbook is completed on time the student will receive a +5 on their theory test. If the workbook is not completed by the test day the student will receive a -10% on their theory test.
All exams are graded promptly, recorded in the grade book and returned to the students when all students have completed their theory test.
After a cosmetology student has completed 1100 hours of instruction they are eligible to take the School’s final written examination and the Schools final practical examination (Manicuring students, 360 hours; Teaching Training students, 585 hours). They all must take and pass both of these examinations with a minimum of 75% in order to graduate. All students must continue to attend Theory classes until they graduate even if they have successfully passed both final examinations.
After satisfactorily passing both School final examinations and upon graduation the student must then take and satisfactorily pass the Montana State, Written and Practical Examinations to be licensed in the State of Montana.
Students, who are terminated after failing to achieve minimum requirements or for serious violations of the policy and procedure manual, may appeal the termination. The student must submit a written appeal to the School’s authorities, along with supporting documentation, a reason why the decision to terminate should be reversed, and request a re-evaluation based on evidence submitted. The appeal must be received by the School’s authorities within five (5) days of termination. Should the student fail to appeal, the decision to terminate is final.
An appeal hearing will take place within five (5) days of receipt of the written appeal. This hearing will be attended by the student, parents/guardian (if student is a dependent minor), an instructor, the Director and/or one owner. The student’s appeal will be determined within three (3) school days by the Schools’ authorities and will be communicated to the student in writing.
Should a student receive favorable results upon her/his appeal and be determined as making satisfactory progress, the student will be automatically re-entered in the course and Federal Financial Aid Funds and will be reinstated.